Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Langstroth Build

This is the point I am at in the build so far , I still need to make some medium bodys . Also need to make the tops and inner cocers as there is two units . Put one of my mug in with them .

Jeff

Default Re: Langstroth Build

Nice job! Just seal the end grain on those corners real good with paint or whatever else you plan to use and put some of those bee thingys in them.

Could anyone tell me what is a good clear finnish to use on the wood to keep the wood natural looking .

About the best you can do for a clear finish for outside use would be Spar Varnish. It will hold up better than a polyurethane product. There are other Tung Oil based products that you can use for exterior use, but you will have to reapply these every so often.

I would think you would need to be careful with VOC based products around the bees.

I have seen some Log Home wood finish/sealers that wore like iron, but I have no experience with them. The excellent ones are probably a bit pricey too!

I think I will just seal and paint them , believe it will be easier to maintain .

I made the top cover and one medium super , also played with the hive entrance reduced opening this morning . I need to make one more medium super and a bottom board and stand , also need to make some inner covers . Below is a couple pics of it so far .

nice looking set up there 2PUP!!
    A government large enough to provide everything you need is strong enough to take everything you have. T. Jefferson

You really should cut some hand holes in the supers, not having them can be a pain.

Nice bottom board, and got to say, one of the best finished hives I've seen! Even been sanded?

Or add some cleats for hand holds...

Nice.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Dipping the boxes in wax and rosin seal them and leave the wood looking natural.