Default All my honey has turned to sugar

This is my first year of extracting honey. I've loved the whole experience.
    Well maybe not the clean-up.

I extracted about 8 gallons on 10Sep10. I kept about 4 gallons mostly in quart Mason jars. Almost all of the honey has crystallized. I'm not worried about it but I just feel a bit hesitant to sell/gift solid honey.

So.... from what I've read this is common, but wow... that was fast!
    Is there any way to slow the process?
    Realizing this is a supersaturated solution is there a way to heat it slowly and
    keep it in-solution?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Stan

Default Re: All my honey has turned to sugar

I'm very new to beekeeping, so not sure if my info is accurate. This is our first year collecting honey, too. Ours also seems to want to crystallize. I've been having a devil of a time trying to filter it. We're going to try to make creamed honey with this batch. From what I've read, it's really pretty easy. If your honey is already sugared, you can use some of that as your seed--you just have to break the crystals down to the small size you want for the creamed honey (blender, mortar and pestle--you only need about a pound to start). After you do all the steps and get the final product, it'll stay like that indefinitely--and it looks so much nicer when trying to sell or give as gifts.

All that aside, I think that if you heat it up (not sure what temp.) and re-bottle it, that slows down the crystallization process, so it'll stay liquid longer, but it will eventually re-crystallize. Also, the cooler you store it, the more it has a tendency to crystallize.

Hope this helps,
    Chris