Default Oct 23, in PA - should I be seeing brood?

Hi,

I started my hive from a package in May, things have been pretty good all summer. I've got a hive body and a medium which are mostly packed with honey. I had a 2nd medium on top which they haven't really done anything with for probably 2 months. I've been feeding syrup. I took off the empty medium today so the bees would be closer to the syrup.

Did an inspection today, and while I see lots of honey and pollen, I am not seeing any brood at all. This is my first year, so I'm not sure if that is normal or a problem. There was also no brood the last time I inspected 1-2 weeks ago. Bee numbers have dwindled since mid summer for sure, but there are still bees in the hive. I did not find my (marked) queen after checking a few of the frames where the most bees were, but then again, I did not do a complete search for her.

Temps here in PA have been up into the 60's during the days, down into the 50's at night.

Any opinions? And if I'm you're going to tell me my queen must have died and I'm in danger of losing my colony, tell me if it's too late in the year to try to requeen.

Default Re: Oct 23, in PA - should I be seeing brood?

Its normal around this time of year but you still need to do a "full" inspection! This way here you can answer your own question if she is there or not! Good Luck!!

All the 80 or so colonies I went through a couple of weeks ago had capped brood along with eggs.