Default Local bees invade festival

A bit of a long story...

I've been doing a local festival for about the past five years. This festival has two events per year, a spring show and a fall show. The setting of the festival is right in the middle of a residential district (high density of homes with VERY tiny lots). Throughout the years that I've been doing the festival there has never been problems with local bees coming around bothering the festival participants. This past show was a very different story. I typically bring an OB hive and offer honey samples of a variety of local honeys. This year our tent was mobbed by local bees - probably about 50 - 70 bees at all times throughout the day. Of course, most people handled it pretty well, but there were several that were quite freaked out by the bees buzzing around. Of course the OB hive and even the slightest scent of honey brought them into my tent like crazy. Bees were even crawling on the honey sticks trying to get honey. Fortunately no one was stung at my tent, but it was a nerve wracking event. Unfortunately other were not as lucky. The snow cone guy was stung, and an artist a few tents down was also stung. Many people at the festival were blaming me for not containing the bees in my observation hive. Of course that totally false as my OB hive is completely secure and was not the source of the bees outside the hive.