Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Newbie process for first mead batch - suggestions?

I am a total newbie, but in my readings on this post, talks with local wine equipment supplier and gotmead.com I am ready to start my first batch. Here is what I am doing. I would be happy for some feedback.
    First I have a wine kit designed for your own fresh fruit. It includes 7.9 gal primary fermenter, 5gall 2nd fermenter, brush/spoons/hydrometer, racking tube /hoses, sanitizer and the stoppers and such. I also have corks/bottles (1/2 size bottles) and corker.

For my first batch going to make a variation of Joe’s Ancient Orange/Spice mead
    15 lbs of my girls output (spring basswood/wildflower mix)
    4 gal water
    5 Large oranges (cut in 1/8ths, rind and all)
    cup raisins
    5 sticks of cinnamon
    3 whole cloves
    3 pinches of nutmeg and allspice (optional )
    3 packs of Lalvin wine yeast 1116
    5 Campden Tablets

Here are my steps:

1) Clean all equipment with the wine kit sanitizer.
    2) Mix honey with warm water put in 1st stage fermenter
    3) Clean/Sanitize outside of oranges, add in oranges, raisins and spices
    4) Add in 5 crushed campden tablets stir
    5) Mix yeast with a cup of warm water add to fermenter, mix VERY thoroughly to aerate put on fermenter lid
    6) After 24h, stir a bit, put on airlock, keep in 65-75 deg dark location
    7) In 2-3 weeks or so fermentation will slow and it will be time to rack to the 2nd stage. This will happen when hydrometer is at ~1.020
    8) Rack into carboy. Leaving sediment behind and trying not to splash keeping air contact down.
    9) Sanitizer airlock and install on carboy.
    10) Finish Fermenting for 1-3 month (will decide later how long)
    11) Sanitize bottles
    12) Bottle
    13) Wait 6mths to 12mth
    14) Enjoy