Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    100

    Default Phasing out a TBH?

    Is there a suggested or preferred method of moving a TBH colony to a langstroth? Cut outs, I presume? I started my first TBH this year and while I can see why people prefer them, I don't really feel that it's a good fit for me.

    What do the kind and knowledgeable pros of Beesource think?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Elkton, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    When it comes time to do the deed, crop the existing top bar comb into pieces small enough to use rubber bands in standard frames. Cut them up, transfer to empty frames (just like a cut out) IF you can wait, I would do this at the beginning of the year and transfer only brood/eggs. Transferring honey is a messy situation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    knoxville, tn
    Posts
    647

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    If you have a TBH up and going why not sell it and start a Lang next spring?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pamplin, VA, USA
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    Quote Originally Posted by G3farms View Post
    If you have a TBH up and going why not sell it and start a Lang next spring?
    Good Point!! Let's see ... Pamplin VA to Brooklyn NY (and back) = well ... never mind ... BUT if there was a TBH up and going for sale near me, I'd be scratchin' through the egg money right quick!

    Peace,
    Joseph

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    2,902

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    MegP,

    How many frames of brood are in the top bar hive? Selling it is a good suggestion, as doing a cutout can be overwhelming for a beginner, and as someone else said, moving frames with honey is very messy because newly drawn honey combs are too fragile to rubber band into frames, the weight of the honey collapses the combs down and, well, thus comes the mess.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Accord, NY
    Posts
    333

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    How long are your bars? There are some easier way than cut-out.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    I would cut the bars so they fit in a lang hive (hang the bars off the hive frame rest) and space them so the bees can move between the bars to the space above. Put lang boxes and frames above
    Feed via bucket feeder on top so they can easily draw comb
    Just keep putting boxes above

    Plan on this taking through winter until they are totally off the top bars.
    Erin Forbes, EAS Master Beekeeper
    overlandhoney.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Delaware County, New York, USA
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    Hi MegP,

    I have 4 working TBHs started from nucs I got from Sam Comfort. I just started beekeeping last season. I'd be interested in talking to you about buying your TBHs. I'm right in Queens! (Although my hives are upstate NY.) I'm planning on placing a few here in Queens too.

    I don't know why you've soured on TBHS but I'd be happy to speak with you. Please private message me if you like.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,341

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    As mentioned the simplest is to sell it to someone who wants a top bar hive. Next is a cut out. A cut out is straightforward and you're done. Anything else is probably more work and more trouble and less reliable.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    100

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    If you would like to come see it, let me know. It's at a rooftop farm in Greenpoint, BK.

    I think the real issue for me is that the person who gave me the hive didnt include a follower board so there is more bridging going on than I'd care to deal with. I feel like I'm going in once a week just to cut away bridge comb and its become quite an ordeal. It's only really honey comb that is like that. The brood comb is quite perfect.

    I was talking to Jim Fischer and he kind of razzed me a little, calling the TBH a swarm factory and so, to some degree I am concerned about that and want and to be sure that I can properly maintain this hive and avoid swarming.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stone View Post
    Hi MegP,

    I have 4 working TBHs started from nucs I got from Sam Comfort. I just started beekeeping last season. I'd be interested in talking to you about buying your TBHs. I'm right in Queens! (Although my hives are upstate NY.) I'm planning on placing a few here in Queens too.

    I don't know why you've soured on TBHS but I'd be happy to speak with you. Please private message me if you like.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fairfield County, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,664

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    Quote Originally Posted by MegP View Post
    I was talking to Jim Fischer and he kind of razzed me...
    No way, that doesn't sound like Jim!

    With Jim you'll get an answer, but it may not be what you were looking for.

    I have a friend that had an easier move from TBH's to lang's... the colonies died in the winter.
    BeeCurious
    Trying to think inside the box...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Delaware County, New York, USA
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    I'd love to come visit you. PM me your cell number so we can speak. I work just a holler away in Long Island City. I could be in Greenpoint in ten minutes!

    Regarding follower boards: Have you considered taking some measurements and having a couple of them made for you?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    325

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    The simplest way is to let them swarm next year. Once they swarm the second time wait for 10 days and then just shake bees from comb into Lang that will be on the same place and TBH was.
    You will have three hives
    Sig

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Concho, AZ
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    Quote Originally Posted by MegP View Post
    If you would like to come see it, let me know. It's at a rooftop farm in Greenpoint, BK.

    I think the real issue for me is that the person who gave me the hive didnt include a follower board so there is more bridging going on than I'd care to deal with. I feel like I'm going in once a week just to cut away bridge comb and its become quite an ordeal. It's only really honey comb that is like that. The brood comb is quite perfect.
    Why not just make a follower board? I made mine very simply from nothing but plywood, cut to fit the box but slightly smaller, and about 3/4 inches higher and that higher part is also wider, so it just "hangs" on the sides like a top bar does....good luck!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Phasing out a TBH?

    I'm just down the road from you (Humboldt and Metropolitan) and would be willing to trade you a lang for the TBH. Or i'd purchase the bars. or opemn to other suggestions.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads