Default How to Can Honey???

I have looked everywhere, including my good old reliable Stocking Up, and I can't find any directions for canning honey, i.e. water bath or pressure cooker method. I want to make sure that the honey I'm putting up is absolutely safe.

I know cured honey doesn't need it, but this is my first time extracting honey & I'm paranoid. I only have about one super full, so I want to do some as comb & some as strained honey. Any suggestions about how to extract on an extremely small scale?

Thanks!

Default Re: How to Can Honey???

Just put it in Honey jars or mason jars. Put the comb in with it. It lasted for thousands of years in the tombs of Egypt. No need to do anything else.
    if you do it will ruin the taste and taste just like store bought honey.

Mike RADFORD
    In alaska, former Mountainier.

just be sure the moisture content is at or below 18.6% (some honey does not require it that low) to be on the safe side or it will ferment.

1."...I know cured honey doesn't need it..."
    the question should be why go to the trouble of harvesting honey if you're going to destroy the majority of its health benefits and taste?
    2."...absolutely safe..."
    surely you're not so naive as to believe that is possible.
    "Wine is a constant proof that God loves us and loves to see us happy" Ben Franklin

My suggestion is to use honey for the sweetener for something that you are already going to can or bake. Don't can just your honey. Raw honey is more than sugar, it has vitamins, minerals, amino acids, enzymes, etc. in it. It is a living food. Those benefits are ruined when honey is heated to too high of a temperature.

Honey is a wonderful complement to berries, fruits, jams, jellies, etc.

There is a canning book "Putting it Up With Honey" by Susann Geiskoph-Hadler and probably many other honey recipes on the internet. Lots of other honey recipe books for sale, too.