Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lewiston, MI, USA
    Posts
    211

    Default installing swarm in my first TBH

    Good day! I picked up a swarm LATE last night and will be installing them in my first TBH this morning. I received the swarm call yesterday morning, but was out of town so couldn't get to them until about 9ish. Luckily, they were still there, but the little spruce branch they landed on had broke by that time and they were all in a pile in the grass. I wasn't sure how I was going to go about getting them in the box, but they sort of made the decision for me. The mass of bees started migrating across the grass to the left, so I laid the box on edge in front of them and, voila, they moved right in.

    SO! Getting to the point, I'm really excited to finally having bees in my TBH. This is a new adventure for me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Findlay, Ohio
    Posts
    524

    Default Re: installing swarm in my first TBH

    Enjoy your top bar hive and new swarm. I got a swarm 6-9-2010 and they are busy building up. Fastest builders so far as far as initial startup. I contribute this do to the swarm being very large and the temperatures are much warmer than in April.

    I am also pleased that I have a different color of honey bee. I started out with Italians this year and believe my swarm is Carniolan.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lewiston, MI, USA
    Posts
    211

    Default Re: installing swarm in my first TBH

    Thanks Findlaybee. I'm happy to hear your bees are doing so well. These bees look like Italians, but the swarm I picked up about a month ago look to me like Carniolans and I am very pleased with how they're building up.

    I plan on starting them out with about 8 top bars. Do you think there is anything else I should do? I don't see how this would be any different then putting bees in a Langstroth (as far as installing goes.) I've read a few posts about bees being more likely to abscond in a TBH. I'm not sure how true this is as I have no experience with TBH's thus far.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Accord, NY
    Posts
    333

    Default Re: installing swarm in my first TBH

    Check in a couple of days to make sure the comb is in line.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Findlay, Ohio
    Posts
    524

    Default Re: installing swarm in my first TBH

    I had problems with the comb the swarm started to build. What they did was start in the back corner and started to build out from the corner diagonally. I cut this comb out and installed some new foundation starter strips and they did a good job building straight the second time around.

  6. #6

    Default Re: installing swarm in my first TBH

    Feed feed feed. Remember your swarm is nearly starving.
    Feeding will allow them to build comb.
    Erin Forbes, EAS Master Beekeeper
    overlandhoney.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Findlay, Ohio
    Posts
    524

    Default Re: installing swarm in my first TBH

    The swarm I installed on 6-9-2010 now has 10 bars with full comb drawn with brood, pollen, and honey. I even have some capped honey on the top of the brood area. There is one completely filled out comb of only honey that is starting to be capped over the older cells. There is an additional 4 bars which have comb in various stages of construction. I added 4 more bars to allow them to expand this week. Queen is laying a very good pattern.

    I wish I had checked the weight on this swarm. It was much larger than I first thought. Had to be over 5 pounds of bees in it. Currently not feeding them at all.

    I think I lucked out with my first swarm.

    Good luck with yours. If yours does as well as mine is, you will be very pleased.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads