Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Hive Splitting

2K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  David LaFerney 
#1 ·
How is the best way to split a huge hive of bees ? I need and want to split a extremely large bunch of girls and make two hives to give them more room.

What is best time of year to do this, and do I need to buy a queen for the new hive ? You probably can tell I am a raw rookie.

casper_zip

#2 ·
There is a lot of information in the forum about doing splits if you do a search. Not much to it... You just need the additional equipment and a place for a second hive. They will make a new queen so you don't have to buy one although some would advise you to do just that. If you purchase, you know more about the genetics and the break in the brood cycle can be very short if you time it right.

#3 ·
Hard to say what the "best" way is. You could always do a simple split. Divide up the hive into two boxes. Move the entrances so that they don't face the direction you originally had them in. Come back at some point and look for eggs or queen cells to let you know which hive is queenright and which isn't. If you're good, you may find the queen while making the split. If you're thrifty, you can let the hive without a queen make their own. Keep an eye on them to make sure they're doing it right. If not, add a store bought queen. I'm doing one of those splits right now. Booming hive that really needed space. I didn't need another hive but what the heck. This time of year is probably a good time to do it like that.