Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Bee Stings

4K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  checotah 
#1 ·
Why do bees sting some people and not others. I am a mechanic by trade and I have 2 hives. I have opened them up and so far I have not been stung. Now I had a couple of beekeepers helping me look for a queen. I have not used smoke on this hive and did not this time. The interesting part we all had vales on and no other protection. I did not receive a sting, Joe got stung once and Denise got stung 3 times and had bees buzzing him the whole time. He had to put on all his protection gear on to keep from getting more stings. So I guess my question is why would on person trigger the bees sting and others don't?

#2 ·
Thank you for asking one of the greatest question of all time. Personally, I believe it has to do with smells. Could it possibly adrenaline levels? I don't know but believe that it does have to do with smells.

Can bees smell fear?

I've read many posts where people say they force themselves to calm down from a hectic day and that working in the bee yard helps them to calm down.

I've also read posts sharing that smoke helps the bees to remain calm and most eveyone agrees that smoke help to block the bees ability to interpret smells.

#5 ·
I've also read posts sharing that smoke helps the bees to remain calm and most eveyone agrees that smoke help to block the bees ability to interpret smells.
Smoke intereferes with smells? Not sure on that one. It is said that bees have an even better sense of smell than dogs. They have it down to the very molecules of scent. So perhaps smoke clouds this a bit... but not much. Same way a dog can smell a treat in the midst of a million other odors going on at the same time.