Thread: new bee

Default new bee

Hello, I am just in the research stage. I have been interested in bees for awhile. I did a research as a master gardener on bees 2 years ago. I am doing a new one this year. They are such busy little creatures. I was bombed by a "yellow jacket" this afternoon , tho! I am wondering about the Class this fall at The U of M in St. Paul. I have only done this "thread" thing when I took the Master gardener class 2 years ago. Not to "savvy" on this. I live in southern Mn, in the country. I am florist. I work where we grow our own garden product. I am more of a Flower Gardener than veggies. But am going back to that part of my old life. Veggies. I'd REALLY like to go to a bee place near and see and ask. Is there anyone out there near I-90 and 35 W?? I live in Blue Earth. Thank You, Cindy

Default Re: new bee

Hello and Welcome!

This forum is a good place to learn about bees & beekeeping. Be sure to check out the "How to Start Beekeeping" subforum: lots of good info covering the basics.

Is Marla Spivak an instructor for the class at U of M? I'd take it in a heartbeat. I've heard her speak before and have read a number of her articles/publications. Regardless, I'd take the class as I'm sure it will provide much useful info, especially pertaining to beekeeping in your area.

Also, check if any of these clubs are near you. Clubs are good places to find mentors and get connected to local beekeepers:
    http://www.mnbeekeepers.com/links.html

Welcome, get some bees so you can learn from them!

Hello, It has been quite a while since I was on this. I am not sure at all how to even make this work. When I took the master gardener class we had this type of Q/A. I will try to make it work for me.
    I did take the class at the U in Oct. I just ordered some bee tolls and clothing. I have met a very helpful couple and they will sell me hives and bees in the spring.