Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Turning 1x4 Pine Furring Strips into supers

I've been trying to make all of my own equipment lately. So I've been at Lowes and Home Depot looking for the cheapest wood. Buying a 1x8x10 of southern pine would cost me about $13 and I could get two boxes (at best) out of it, making it about $6.50 a box. I can buy it for that price, if not cheaper.

So looking for cheaper wood locations turned negative, so I just went with cheaper wood. I bought 1x4x10 furring strips for $1.70 a piece, and glued two of them together. That would make a box about $1.70 each. But, I'm new to woodworking, so I'm not sure if there is something inherently wrong with gluing two cheap boards together to make a box.

Any woodworking suggestions?

Default Re: Turning 1x4 Pine Furring Strips into supers

when you glue wood look on the edge were you see the rings, just make sure the two peices of rings or grain are going in oppoisite directions you get a stronger bond.
    99.99% of questions can be answered by Just reading books.

I glue two planks together quite regularly to make equipment. If you do it, get alot of bar clamps and don't scrimp on the glue. Get and use a good outdoors glue. Those boards will try to twist and turn as they age in the weather, nothing worse then watching hives split because of cheap glue.
    Ernie

Gluing smaller boards together to make larger boards is what good woodworking is all about.

Some people call it board stretching. I like to use my router to cut a matching glue joint into the edges to be joined (helps to add strength to those edge joints), but that isn't 100% necessary and does reduce the width of the final product.

Such as this one, called a fingerjoint which is good for on-edge or even on-ends to extend the length of boards:

Or this one, a gluejoint, designed for strengthening edge-to-edge joints:

I use the gluejoint to lock the pieces of my covers together. It helps prevent leaks between boards.