Default Greetings from Aroostook County Maine

Hello,

This is my first year with honeybees. I got my first nuc this spring so this is my first winter with the bees. I confess to being a little nervous. Right now I am struggling with determining whether or not to open the hive and see if the hard candy/pollen is necessary. I don't want to open up the hive, let the heat out and cause them stress, but I don't want them to starve in there either. I did not heft the hive when it was full of honey so I have no idea how heavy it ought to be now. I want to do right by the bees, whether 'right' is to act or not to act. It seems I must open the hive to know but due to lack of experience I find myself hesitating. Anyone have any ideas? This week daytime temps are supposed to be in the 30's and night time temps in the high teens. The wind is almost always blowing here but there are days when it is more breezy than windy. Thanks for any help you could offer.

Default Re: Greetings from Aroostook County Maine

Peek in the cover on the warmest day forecast at the warmest part of the afternoon. Get in and out as quick as you can without squishing too many bees.

Pick the "warmest" day you can with sunshine...with the least wind...and make a real quick peak. If you get in and out quickly, you should be ok...again, especially if you have sunshine. Best of luck.
    "My child, eat honey, for it is good." (Proverbs 24:13)

If you have a screened bottom board on the hive you could pull out the tray, clean it off and put it back.
    Go back 2 days later and see if there is debris on the board. If there is, the bees are alive and you can tell what area of the box they are in from the location of the debris.
    If there is no debris, chances are your bees have not made it.
    Erin Forbes, EAS Master Beekeeper
    overlandhoney.com

The possible stress you might cause a colony by tipping up the inner cover...non-existant in my opinion...is less stress than allowing them to starve.