Thread: Hi from SWFL

Default Hi from SWFL

Hey everyone, I have already posted in the newbee thread, but I figured I'd post one here too.

About me and bees...I have always wanted to keep bees. Since a kid, I have preferred honey to everything else sweet. I just never had an opportunity. My hubby and I just closed on a house in the historic district of town, and there are bees in a wall of a room that will be undergoing some light demo. We are planning on keeping the colony, and moving them to a hive in the yard. I am joining the Beekeepers Association of SWFL this week. So this is how I am getting into beekeeping... Hubby's aunt is a beekeeper, so I have a great resource to call any time I need some advice. Her bees are in Wisconsin, but she visits us for a few months in the winter every year. She is very excited about all this.

Other than that, I am a graphic and web designer, we have quite a few pets and a love of historic homes.

Default Re: Hi from SWFL

Hi, & Welcome,
    You're in a great area weather wise for bees.
    Do a search on cutout. That is what you'll be doing when removing the comb from the walls of the house, & tying them in frames.
    Dan

Best wishes with your historic hive. Are there restrictions to cutting the wall? You probably know to cut or tear the comb out of the wall and tie it in frames with string, rubber bands or wire. If I wasn't traveling I would help or just take pictures. I have saved a few hives over the years.

Quote Originally Posted by AmericasBeekeeper View Post
    Best wishes with your historic hive. Are there restrictions to cutting the wall? You probably know to cut or tear the comb out of the wall and tie it in frames with string, rubber bands or wire. If I wasn't traveling I would help or just take pictures. I have saved a few hives over the years.