Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rensselaerville, NY, USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Hi All...

    I'm an aspiring beek and will be building warre hives for this season. I will be getting nucs with frames and am wondering the best way to transfer the nuc into the top bar hive... Any help would be appreciated! Thank you... Rachel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,591

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Assuming the top bar doesn't take the same size combs as the nuc, then the standard method for the last 150 years is to do a cutout. make frames for the top bar hive, cut the combs to fit and tie them into the frames for the new hive. But this means you have to build frames to fit. Anything else is more trouble than it's worth, in my opinion.

    But then I'd build it to take the frames, or just buy a package. Why buy a nuc with they are on the wrong sized combs anyway?
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    642

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    If you can, as Michael said, get a package. Or get a swarm. I would avoid transferring nucs to Warre hives at all costs.

    Good luck!

    Matt

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Totnes, Devon, England
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    See the second video down on this page http://www.biobees.com/media.php
    The Barefoot Beekeeper http://www.biobees.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Monroeville Pa
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Buckbee,
    I really find your videos helpful.
    Carrie

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hirschbach, Bavaria, Germany
    Posts
    643

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Bush View Post
    Assuming the top bar doesn't take the same size combs as the nuc, then the standard method for the last 150 years is to do a cutout. make frames for the top bar hive, cut the combs to fit and tie them into the frames for the new hive. But this means you have to build frames to fit. Anything else is more trouble than it's worth, in my opinion.

    But then I'd build it to take the frames, or just buy a package. Why buy a nuc with they are on the wrong sized combs anyway?
    To make the cutout even easier skip all the tying and check out these bars!

    http://customwoodkitsinternational.s...ant/?p1=144785
    Procrastination is the assassination of inspiration.
    www.customwoodkitsinternational.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rensselaerville, NY, USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Thanks so much for the video, you make it look really easy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rensselaerville, NY, USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Thanks for all the imput everyone! I'll let you know how I make out!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Totnes, Devon, England
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Here are some other ways to accomplish the same goal - http://fotb.drogon.org/library/sketc...hive_ideas.pdf
    The Barefoot Beekeeper http://www.biobees.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    642

    Default Re: Transferring Traditional Nuc into a TBH

    Thanks for that, Phil. Some good ideas for me to ponder.

    Matt

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads