Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Can you make a living with Bees

How many bee hives do you have to have to clear $ 100,000.00 a year profit.

What generates the most money for bees. Is Honey just considered a by product of pollination?

Is their a marketing firm that works for the honey people, Like Got milk does for the dairy guys. I do not understand why honey is so Cheep. Or for that matter why is pollination services so low is it like the beef industry where the cattle guy gets the shaft while everyone else profits from there hard work?

I would think if everyone that works with bees also had a council like the dairy, beef, chicken industry etc..... Maybe you guys do , but I will tell you if you do they are not doing a good job to market your products and service.

Remember I am new to all this and have more questions.

Default Re: Can you make a living with Bees

There is an american honey board, & some individual state ones.
    Dan

The question is not how many hives. That is just one of the many variables. Proper honeybee management is the first major step. Then you need good locations for honey production or places to place your colonies for pollination. You then have to rely on mother nature working in your favor. If you accomplished these first steps than you hope they are not poisoned by the crop farmers trying to line their own pockets. Even if you accomplish all of this many other things can/will go wrong. As for some of the marketing groups that work for the beekeeper. I think they do a very poor job compared to what the little beekeepers themselves do with their personal contact with their customers to get top dollar for top shelf products.
    Last edited by Beeslave; 12-30-2009 at 09:30 PM.

Join a national organization, like American Beekeeping Federation or American Honey Producers. You will learn a lot and meet some great people.