Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Got mites?

Default Got mites?

Had some time to closely inspect the crawlers in front of my hive this morning. Looks like Verroa mites to my untrained eye. Now what to do? I need to treat quickly, as the dead bees are piling up pretty fast. Checkmite?

It's not all bad, here is a returning forager I managed to capture a pic of this morning as well.

Last edited by honeyman46408; 12-26-2009 at 05:54 PM. Reason: see image posting guide lines

Default Re: Got mites?

You might consider an OA dribble.
    Link to a post of mine

I used a "Windex" type sprayer that consistently gave me 5 ML per 10 full "pumps" of the 3.5% solution. I will have to wait until spring to see how it did as this is my first year. It will knock the ever-loving snot out of the mites(See the pic of the sticky board in my post); with about 100-200 dead bees over two days in front of the hive.

RKR
    4 seasons 19 Hives-Camp Branch Bee Ranch. Est 2009
    "I am a nobody; nobody is perfect, and therefore I am perfect."

Too late... Save the money that you would spend to treat and put it towards next springs package. Treating now is like looking for ticks after you've been diagnosed with lyme disease... the damage is already done.

Quote Originally Posted by cow pollinater View Post
    Too late... Save the money that you would spend to treat and put it towards next springs package. Treating now is like looking for ticks after you've been diagnosed with lyme disease... the damage is already done.
    No I'm not giving up on them.

Try a FGMO Fog. It will give a quick drop and you can use it anytime you can open the top of the hive. Three or four treatments and you'll be surprised at how many fewer mites you have.

And FGMO Fog is non toxic to you or your Bees.

Just Google FGMO Fog for more info.

Your climate may not be too late to do anything. Most mites are resistant to common pesticides like Apistan. Try something newer on the market.