Default What are they doing??!

This is my first year with bees: I have two hives, one from a package and one from a nuc. Both were doing nicely as of the inspection on June 28th. I'd added a second deep hive body to the nuc-bees two weeks before, and added a second hive body to the package bees on the 28th. The nuc-bees were building up well into the 2nd hive body by then. All seemed happy and content, both hive queens were present and busy. Life was good, and I went out of town for a spell.

I got back on Tuesday night and took a first look at the hives on Wednesday morning. I saw what I thought looked like robbing on the nuc-hive... lots of activity that had a stressful feel to it, and a lot of bees climbing up the front of the hive before taking off. Plus there was some fighting pairs and I saw bees dragging others out of the hive. I got a couple of entrance reducers and installed them in both hives... I figured if the robbers couldn't get into the hive they'd been robbing, they'd go to the house next door. The nuc-hive has an old bottom board that's not standard (I have screened bottom boards on the way, but they're back-ordered ) so I was having trouble getting the wooden reducer to fit. Sanded frantically, and got it to mostly fit with a slit where the larger opening is still open. I put in a couple of shims to block it.

Early Wednesday evening, I went back to check and saw this:

My husband said they were cooling the hive (he's new at this, too, but I didn't have a better explanation) and they seemed peaceful so we left them to it.