Question Rather Concerned

I've had two TBHs - started from nucs - for about one month. When I've opened up the back of each hive I've observed that "number one" hive is building comb like gangbusters. I don't see any new come from the rear in hive "number two". The bees in each hive are going in and out busily and are coming back with pollen but "number two" looks like they are in slow motion! Always more bees and busier at the entrance of number one. The outwardly observable difference between these two hives is remarkable.

I haven't been able to go into the hives for a "full" inspections because the weather here has been horrible - always raining or rain coming in. Low pressure has been around for over a month, and on the weekends when I am only able to get to the hives, the weather has been poor. I haven't been able to go in for three weeks and I'm virtually flying blind at this point.

As a complete novice my question is this: Should I be concerned or is this normal in colonies that have started out "equally"?

When I do go in, what should I be looking for?

Thanks.

Default Re: Rather Concerned

Under ideal conditions, two hives right next to each other can seem very different. So that, in and of itself, is not a problem especially when you consider they are only a month along.
    There are all sorts of things that "might" be going on, but unequal buildup of "equally started" hives is not something that's very remarkable.
    When you check, if they both have eggs/larvae/brood and stores I wouldn't be too concerned.
    Weather is a BIG factor. Are you feeding?

Thank you for your reply.

I'm not feeding...but I have considered it - considering the unusually wet, cool, weather we've been having. But we're in the middle of New York State watershed area which is relatively pristine and with incredible forage for thousands of acres in every direction. If only the girls had a chance to go out and get it........

If I feed, what would you recommend?