Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Will long smoking force swarming?

Could I build an enclosed trap, attach it to the tree, slowly smoke the bees over a period of hours creating a swarm including the queen? Would I know I had the queen if the bees in the trap formed a tight group after a long non-leathal smoking? It seems I saw a study on smoke and swarming was done in France. Would an entire colony leave? Thanks for any advice.

Default Re: Will long smoking force swarming?

I have no experience with bee removal from trees, but if you are successful in using smoke the right word would be absconding not swarming.

Good luck Gilman

Absconding, yes. Would they all pack up and leave as if there were a forest fire? They would be doomed without the queen so it seems she would eventually form-up the group until the scouts found a better home.

It's doubtful you can run them out of tree with smoke and get them to decide to abscond. I've tried. Not to say it COULDN'T work but it's unlikely. Do a search on "trap out" and see what comes up. It's been discussed many times.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesferal.htm#conemethod
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Perhaps I should be patient and wait until the colony swarms naturaly. I'm just getting into beekeeping. I'm reading all I can and find it all very fascinating. This new found iterest has all happened within the last two months.
    Two days ago I was walking around our yard and saw a lot of bees working the clover. It seemed like more bees than I remembered, but I kind of thought I saw more honey bees because I am now hyper-focused on them. My kids were kind of happy in the sandbox, so I walked back to our stand of catalpa trees thinking it would be wild to find a swarm hanging in a tree. No swarm, but a hive in one tree about four feet off the ground. I'm sure it was not there last year - I think I would have noticed.