Thread: Help!

Exclamation Help!

Hi, There seems to be something seriously wrong with my bees- firstly, it seems their numbers have been steadily declining, and I've made sure to check when they all should be in the hive. Also, there is no growth. there is plenty of comb, but only a few cells are capped and it's few and far between. the comb is no longer white, but kind of rusty red at places, and there is no honey that I can immediately tell. I don't think i have a queen,for the bees are loud and wandering aimlessly around. I actually don't think I ever had a queen, or she died very soon, because there doesn't seem to be any sort of order- I think i have laying workers and I think my colony is dying.I know I did nothing wrong- did I? There is no reason my hive should be failing! Maybe I am wrong about the interpretation of what is going on. The whole vibe the colony is giving off is decay and aimlessness. Or am i reading it wrong? I am a beginner tbh- I have tried to guide the bees but let them lead- to give them what they need and back off to let them do their thing. They are in a perfect location and the weather has been favorable. What can i do? is there anything I obviously did wrong?

I had a hive that was the same way they were loud and sounded like an ac unit turned out they had no queen and no way to make a new one. I think I must have crushed her or somthing. so I would check real good for a queen and get one asap if you cant find one ..(I just used a frame with eggs and brood)

I'd check for eggs. You want to see single eggs at the bottom of the cells. If you find no eggs, or if you find a lot of eggs all over the sides of cells, the hive is queenless.

Matt
    Last edited by Barry; 06-03-2009 at 04:53 PM. Reason: remove quotes

Have you ever seen eggs?? Or young brood??

How many frames of bees do you have??