Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Hive Under Attack (Pics)

I was sitting out in the yard watching my newly hived swarm when all of a sudden I started to hear the buzz of a bigger bee. Before long it sounded like an air strike. I had a bunch of big bees flying down and going into my hive. I was able to catch one, and it looks like a honey bee only double the size. They were going in and out and I figured they were robbing the hive of honey. This really ticked me off cause I just got this swarm, and they cant have all that much to begin with. I put my entrance excluder back on to try and help them out a bit. My bees were going crazy flying all around the outside of the hive but I didnt see them really fighting other than landing on them every so often. I'm new to this so I dont know what a bee fight really looks like. I am trying to get batteries for my camera so I can post pics to get a positive I.D. Is there any other advice as to what I could do to help my girls out? Did I do the right thing by putting on the excluder? I may leave some drones out but I figured that would be better than letting these bumbles clean the girls out. Thanks in advance!

Aaron

Last edited by DiverDog; 06-01-2009 at 04:08 PM.

I'm hoping you mean "reducer", and yes that's a good thing to do.

No it's a queen excluder my mentor cut down to fit the hive entrance. The queens inside so she's fine, and the workers can get through it. The bumblebees can't. Thats why I put it on. We made them for catching swarms. When we first catch a swarm and we know the queen is inside we put them on so that she stays that way they dont abscond. We leave them on for about 3 days then pull it. We heard of the idea after talking to some other beeks about the swarm I caught last month leaving the next day.

Default Invading bees