Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default new to beekeeping and would like to keep it natural

hello, im brand new to beekeeping and will be getting 3 packages of russians soon. i had bought all of my equiment used from a friend. most of the frames are drawn out on standard foundation. some looks ok and some looks like a bit messy and the age is unknown to me. my question is this.

When is comb no good anymore?

Is it ok to hive my packages on this comb and will they clean any mess up?

Could i use foundationless frames along w/ the drawn comb and undrawn foundation, and if so what would the best way to go about it be?

thanks a bunch for all of your wisdom!!

>When is comb no good anymore?

When it is full of acaracides or wax moth webs...

>Is it ok to hive my packages on this comb and will they clean any mess up?

Yes. Some people would worry about AFB. You should look for AFB scale first and make sure it looks clean of that.

>Could i use foundationless frames along w/ the drawn comb and undrawn foundation, and if so what would the best way to go about it be?

Cut the combs out and leave the outside row of cells all the way around.

If you have NEW frames:
    http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfoundationless.htm
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

how do i tell if it is acaracides or wax moth webs and not other webs?
    what should ABF scale look like?

Hey Michigan:
    WHile you can see the wax moth webs, you cannot see the accaricides.

The safest thing to do is to put it put your new packages on foundation and let them draw out the comb. You still are early enough for that.

There still may be some impurities in the foundation, but the only way around that is to go foundationless, find someone to make foundation for you from your own wax, or make it yourself.

I personally don't want other folks' comb in my hives unless I know them and their practices.