Default How do I catch a wild swarm

I'm new to beekeeping, and while I was doing some excavating, I found a bee hive in a old cherry tree. My question is: how close or far should I put my nuc to the existing hive, and is there a height prefrence that I should hang it. I just got some swarm lure and I'm wondering what my chances are of catching the bees if and when they swarm. Also, how often should I check to see if in fact I have cought the swarm.
    Thanks for any and all info.

I know a lot of people use nucs for catching swarms, but many swarms are too large for a nuc so they don't get caught. If it was me, I'd use a deep box for the swarm trap. Most swams like to land 6 to 10 to 15 feet up in a tree, so if you have the ability to hang a box that high up, that's what I'd do. Check on it once every couple of weeks or a month is fine. If you get one, then remove the box and place it in your beeyard at dusk.
    “When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.” – John Muir

They say the trap should be 8-10 ft. high, 50 -300 ft. away.
    Lure and old comb are attractants, however it is still a gamble, they may or may not use it.

Just look now & then to see if a steady stream of bees are entering and leaving.

I'd say the odds are less than 50-50, my luck at least.

Good Luck
    PCM

Quote Originally Posted by PCM View Post
    They say the trap should be 8-10 ft. high, 50 -300 ft. away.Lure and old comb are attractants, however it is still a gamble, they may or may not use it.I'd say the odds are less than 50-50, my luck at least.
    PCM
    I have caught 25 this year. All at a height reachable from the ground. I am getting about 2 out of three filled. Lemongrass oil and old comb in five frame nuc boxes or larger.

Yeah, if you properly bait it with pheromone lure, you'll get pretty good success rate.

Mine is 80% last season. 4 out of five