Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: router

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Saratoga, NY
    Posts
    137

    Default router

    I'm looking for a good lused router. I'd like to start making my own boxes. Not to save money, but just to point at and say " I made those " I'd be shipping to CT so I'm not sure how much that would cost, but it does affect the price I'll pay

    Michael
    Michael

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    North Salem, NY
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Michael, what you need is a table saw with a dado blade, not a router. I tried with the router and the results look like crap! The quality is much better if using a dado blade to do the box joints and the rabbets. PS. your location says Saratoga, but you say you are shipping to CT. Where are you from? I may be able to lend you some equipment in return for some hive bodies. I live in North Salem, NY.

    justgojumpit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Saratoga, NY
    Posts
    137

    Default New location

    JGJ I moved to CT this past winter and haven't found out how to change my profile on this page. Thanks for the advice on the router. I'll go take a look on the web and see how that works.
    Michael

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Troy, Illinois, Madison County
    Posts
    98

    Default

    go into user CP top left edit your details.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    North Salem, NY
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Beorn,

    Where in CT? I live about 10 miles west of Danbury. We might be neighbors!

    justgojumpit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Saratoga, NY
    Posts
    137

    Default

    I'm now in Andover. It's about 30 minutes east of Hartford. I worked in Southbury a few years ago
    Michael

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    North Salem, NY
    Posts
    350

    Default

    That's about an hour and a half to an hour and fourty-five minutes from me.

    justgojumpit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lauderdale County TN USA
    Posts
    404

    Default Probably

    Probably too late for me to jump on the bandwagon, but if you have a table saw you can cut the rabbets with it, you can even do it without a dado blade if you move the fence slightly more than the width of the blade repeatedly until the required width is reached. this is time consuming, but it saves from blade changes. I find that it take me too much time so I use a router. I'm in the process of building a table for my router so I can have a more accurate setup.
    With a good adjustable pilot bearing rabbet bit you can achieve nicer results than most dado blades. But you have to use a good bench and a secondary support for the overhanging side of the router.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    7

    Default table saw!

    I would get a table and set it up for just a dado it makes your life a whole lot easier and you will be amazed at the quality of product you will have. I wouldn't go with less than a Delta 1.5 horse power though.

  10. #10

    Default

    Even if you get one of the cheep table top table saw with a 10" blade. $100.00 or so You would be far ahead.
    My-smokepole
    http://www.davidspaintingandwallpapering.com"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    North Salem, NY
    Posts
    350

    Default

    you can cut the rabbets without a dado blade in two cuts. Make one cut, then stand the board on end and make the other. You will end up with a rectangular piece of wood as scrap. I do prefer the dado blade, though, when making multiple rabbets.

    justgojumpit

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads