Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Entrance observations

I am curious. I have read numerous times that much can be deducted of a hives overall condition by watching the activity around the entrance of a hive. I understand "going through" a hive will set them back to a small degree so if it isn't neccesary I prefer not to.

I can recognise incoming pollen, play flights in early afternoon, robbing behaviour and even had a couple of front row seats to swarms.

I guess my question would be what type of behaviour/observation would send up a red flag to you that would cause you to open up and go through a hive?(besides the obvious like a mound of dead bees out front).

I assume that most larger operations could not possibly check all their hives all the time and would have developed some sort of streamlined way of identifying problems.
    Last edited by PerryBee; 03-09-2009 at 08:16 AM. Reason: Spelling

Smile checking hive

well im new to bees as well i only have 1 hive started from a 3# PACKAGE LAST YEAR AS FAR AS CHECKING BEE IT MUST BE AT LEAST 57 OUTSIDE WITH NO WIND DON'T WANT TO CHILL BROOD AND IF COLD I USE A ENTRANCE REDUCER I MADE MY SELF USE A SNUG PIECE OF WOOD SO THEY DONT HAVE TO DEFEND MUCH I ONLY CHECKED 2 TIMES LAST YEAR TO MAKE SURE EGGS WAS STILL BROOD...AS FAR AS CHECKING I HAVE HEARD U CAN CHECK ATLEAST ONE TIME A WEEK I HOPE IM CORRECT IF NOT SOME ONE CORRECT ME IF IM WRONG....

Check to see if bees are well formed, short abdomems or wings cocked at an angle indicates mites, lots of staining (poop) on the outside of the hive indicates nosema. If a lot of bees are crawling around on the ground that's not a good sign either.

Search the Diseases part of this forum for more info.
    Try to learn something new every day and give thanks for all your blessings.

An unusually large number of drones indicates that you may have a drone-laying queen.

Default Smell