Thread: Over Saturation

Default Over Saturation

Do you risk with really big operations an over saturation of Bees in an area?

Can apiary get too big?

Shortage of nectar, pollen, Etc.

I am a newbee, but from everything I have read it seems that robbing becomes a problem before oversaturation does. In our part of the country, the consensus seems to be that 20 hives on a particular site is enough. No real world experience with it here though.

Default seperation

I'm a Noob too.

How far apart sites?

I would think the farther the bees have to fly the less work they get done.

Hi Bill!

Here is one experts comments:

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfaqs.ht...nyhivesoneacre

In Southern Oregon, I have seen yards with considerably more than 20 hives, however. As far as separation, when I talked with a commercial beekeeper, he said that they try to keep at least 1 mile apart. I suspect that were there was less forage, you would want to increase the distance. From the link above, it says that the bees will collect on the surrounding 8000 acres or a circle with a 2 mile radius. For no overlap that would mean a spacing of 4 miles between yards. If you can find a local beekeeping club or a local mentor, they could give advise specific to your area.

Larry Edwards

Default Feral

What would you consider to be the normal number of feral hives in a 2 mile radius?

Default Feral

You'll probably get some difference in opinions on 'Feral' ...but...I would say the expectations in terms of numbers of feral hives increases depending on how many managed hives are close to that area, plus a little dependent on how those managed hives are actually managed...if you get the gist of what I'm saying. If not I'll simply say that I'm sure I've contributed to the number of feral colonies in my area, to be honest.
    "burr comb happens..."

Default Shortage of nectar, pollen, Etc.

In the grazing category of livestock management we refer to carrying capacity or animal units per acre.