Sad What went wrong?

So I'm very new to beekeeping. I had a hive set up for me last spring by a teenager who was going to coach me, but he never really got back to. I bought a couple of books & by the time fall came realized I should have been doing more for them than I had! I live in Southern Oregon & right now we're having crazy weather 55-60 degree days & into the teens at night. There's been lots of activity around the face of the hive since the days are sunny & warm. I've been feeding them, but have noticed about 10 dead each day. Yesterday there was no activity & no noise from inside so I took the top off all were dead! There's some yellow gooey stuff in some of the cells. I'm so sad: Any help would be great!

The simple facts are that a certain percentage of hives always die over winter. If you have one hive, that could be the one, so it might not be anything you could have prevented. That is one of the reasons most recommend having at least two. It improves your odds and gives something to compare to.

At any rate, unless you post pictures, and even if you do, there is going to be a lot of guessing, but no sure answer because we are not there to see, feel, and smell.

If you know of any beekeepers around where you live, give them a call and see if they are interested in doing a post mortem. If there is a local bee club, that is a good place to start. Otherwise look in a store and see who is putting local honey on the shelves.

Thanks for the help! I'll look for a local beekeeper. I'm determined to try again & this time I'll try two hives.

Don't give up until you pop the lid and take a good
    frame by frame look......

Hi Rosieriveter!

Last night (Feb 2nd) the Southern Oregon Beekeepers Association met. We meet at 7:30 PM until 9:00 and almost always on the first Monday of each month. The meeting is held at the Southern Oregon Research & Extension Center. 569 Hanley Road, Central Point OR 97503. The next meeting is scheduled for March 2nd.