Thread: What ya learn?

Default What ya learn?

I'm giving a talk on second year expectations. Having been around bees since 1981, I've kind of forgot what it's like to be a rookie.

My question: What did you learn moving from your rookie year into your second year of beekeeping? What did you wish you knew then that you know now?

Grant
    Jackson, MO
    Beekeeping With Twenty-five Hives: https://www.createspace.com/4152725

I'm a couple of years removed from my rookie season but I still consider myself to be pretty fresh. :-p

Really the thing I learned is mostly to use common sense. If something really doesn't look right then well, it probably isn't. On the other hand do go trying to look for problems that are not there.

Once I got into the "let the bees do what they need to do" mode they did better, and the hobby became a lot more fun.

K

I am still in my first year, got my bees in May 2008.
    What I learned is to keep extra equipment on hand. supers,frames,foundation,etc.
    If it isn't broken, don't try to fix it. If you build it, they will fill it.

Don't go into your hives every day.

Default 2nd year deekeeping

Learn what time of day and weather conditions to open your hive. learn to use less smoke and be more gentle when you open and inspect your hive.Learn to work your frames from the outside, to the the middle and when you find larva and fresh eggs you don't have to find the queen.Learn what to look for in your inspection and don't leave the hive open any longer than necessary.These are the ones that helped me,you'll learn more with time. Jack

take the time to suit up.it allows more relaxed longer visits to the yard,and into the hives.find people who's advise you trust and use them.plan for expansion but focus on what you have.

Don't bite off more than you can chew!!!!!!
    life is like a box of chocolates,you never know what you are gonna get

When to treat for pests and how to keep your hive alive through the winter.