Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Paso Robles, California
    Posts
    155

    Question To Bait or Not To Bait...That is the question

    I got a TBH for Christmas and am in the process of building another. Im in California and we have had a few unseasonably warm days with the expectation of more to come...
    I plan on catching a swarm to populate my TBH's with but Im wondering about baiting.
    What are the chances I will actually attract a swarm of bees?
    What are the chances I will attract something I dont want?
    How EXACTLY do I go about baiting in a TBH? (I dont have any existing hives)

    TIA

    -=Sarah
    Last edited by kaisfate; 01-22-2009 at 01:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Worcester County, Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaisfate View Post
    How EXACTLY do I go about baiting in a TBH? (I dont have any existing hives)
    well, first you have to find a hook big enough for the fish that will eat a TBH....(sorry, i couldn't resist).

    it's always possible that some less desirable stinging insect will move in...but i wouldn't let that stop you.

    you can bait with pheromone (from the bee supply houses) which is probably best. some use citrus oils (lemongrass and lemon are popular)....this is widely repored effective. the pheromone lure will come in a little tube you put in the hive...if you use the oil, it's probably best to put it on a piece of scrap wood (or Popsicle stick) and place it in the hive.

    deknow

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    180

    Default

    If your looking to catch a swarm, then you might as well set up a bunch of empty containers around wherever you can to increase your chances. (some people call these "swarm traps"). I think there have been some discussions about what type of "swarm traps" you can use. You can even put some cardboard boxes around, or sono tubes (make sure to close the top and bottom and leave a small hole for the entrance) , whatever you have laying around. That way, if you do catch a swarm in one of those swarm traps, you can just empty the bees out into your hive. You might also want to try setting out the swarm traps at different heights.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    los angeles, ca
    Posts
    109

    Smile

    I'm in L A and I caught 12 swarms last year in the Pulp Swarm Traps. Each swarm trap had a Lure in it. My two swarm traps were in one tree.With the lure they will find the trap
    kirk
    I like bugs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Fresno California USA
    Posts
    2,479

    Default Swarm traps

    Like kirko & samak hinted, elevate +-6' in partial sun. Old comb is a good lure also if you can obtain some. I've heard many times that the liquid lure works very well. If you sign up with PD & FD you'll surely get some easy ones ( swarms )specially in SLO.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,742

    Default

    I'd buy a package and set a bunch of bait hives (any old box with bait will do).

    http://www.bushfarms.com/beesferal.htm#baithives
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads