Thread: Pollen type?

Default Pollen type?

Hey guys, I was out standing by the hive a few minutes ago. It's warm out the sun is shining and it's about 55deg, there were a few workers returning, and I noticed about half of them were laden with a very bright orange Pollen. I'm in the mid south, and this is JAN, anyone have any idea what would be blooming this time of the year, or have my girls found and open bag of Cheetos's?
    If it's not terribly apparent, I'm learning all about beeking all over again, due to massive wreck, and a coma/brain damage, I have severe memory loss from before my wreck. I can't recall any flower that would be open this season.
    Any ideas? Also, are there any other substances that can be collected or are collected using the pollen pouches?

I'm in SC, and on every warm day that I've went to check on the hives, they two have been bringing in pollen. color varies from light yellow to orange. I also am puzzled by this. I am a novice in beekeeping, but I've lived here all my life and don't have a clue what could be in bloom right now.

Default Pollen Type?

I am in SC seeing the same thing. My wife says it is camilias that will bloom now.

Steve

I am in Central MS and saw some wild turnips blooming today. They have a yellow blossom so that could be it.

Johnny

I saw some narcissis blooming yesterday and yes the cultivated mustards are blooming... also a common yellow flower which I think??? may have been broomweed.

haven't figured out where it might be coming from but I saw some bright red pollen coming in here about a week ago.