Default Question for Mike Palmer: Exit Strategy for Overwintered Nucs--when to transfer?

Mike:

Considering Dr. Connor, has referenced you in his book Increase Essentials, and I've read a lot of your writings on summer increase and over wintering, etc, I need to ask you a question. How do you know you (nature?) are done with your overwintering nuc, i.e. placing it into a hive, in time before it swarms?

You're no doubt familiar with many of us Virginians down here who have totally drank the kool-aid on overwintered nucs and sustaining apiculture. We totally get it -- the value of this technique -- and we couldn't be more on board with you and Kirk.

But, as an overwintering newbie, I don't know a good exit strategy. I have nucs "in the freezer" now, outside, and I'm eager to see the results come springtime. Is the exit strategy as simple as transferring the nuc into a hive after last frost of the Spring, or is it more scientific.

Here's my fear: The cardinal sin of O/W nucs as I see it is failing to act in time before allowing them to swarm...BAAAAD BEEKEEPER!

So what signals you that the nuc must be transferred to a hive, or else it'll swarm?

Kim Flottum's book "Honey Handbook" page 31, mentions a term of measurement called "Growing Degree Days". GDD as explained by Kim is a measure of time when certain flora are available for nectar gathering. GDD is a function of averaging max, min and base temperatures, to yield a precise, but constant, chronological number assigned to various plants. But can GDD's be used to predict when the nuc will swarm?

Default Sorry, others feel free to chime in...

Know there's a world of knowledge gained from experience out there. I want to hear from Mike, but didn't mean to silence everyone else on this topic.

Default Swarm Juice