Default Wild bees in a gas tank?

Hello again, remember I am new to all this and know nothing about bees. The guys at work know I am interested in getting bees and one of them works on old trucks in his spare time. He says that he has a 34 Ford truck that honey bees have took over the gas tank? He says they have been in there about 4 years and he wants me to get them if I want them? He does not want to keep the gas tank, and has offered to remove the tank and bring it to work for me. I told him that they would not be a good way to get them out of there this time of year, and he basically just wants them gone so he can work on the truck. He says gas has not been in the tank for over 40 years, but its still hard for me to understand why they would be there? He says there is only one hole for them to go in and out, about 2" in the end of the tank Does this sound like a total waste of time or is there a away to get them out and get them in my hive? Its all new to me as I have never even seen a wild hive or swarm. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks Rondo

Best thing would be to leave it as is until spring.

Second best, since he is willing to remove the tank, is to remove tank, move truck, leave tank as near original position as possible until spring. Tank should not be turned sideways, upside down, or otherwise disturbed, position wise, while removing. The comb will break and fall, destroying the hive.

Removing the bees from the tank before spring would be a waste of time.

There are a number of ways to remove them in the spring.

HOLY CRAP BARRY.......... That's amazing.............. how'd ya open the tank without damaging the hive?

A beekeeper is not what I am, it's what I aspire to become.

That tank hive belonged to Dave Caldwell. You can see it was fairly rusted through. Here is another approach from a member of a previous group:

----------
    Last year I had a neighbor call me to remove a hive that was in a