Default planting sweet clover

Hi all,

in general I am only interested in forage the is already present and growing in great profusion. but... due the high price of feed one of my location owners sold all his cattle and there some forage land available and he seems to be open to input about what to plant on about 20 acres. so naturally i wanted to do a little checking into he posibilities.

A few quesions about sweet clover.

What a good source for sweet clover seed in calif (meaning cheap)?

What's a good method/ timing for planting?

Matt

Probably the best price is at your local feed and seed store. That's where I buy mine. When I planted it, I had the field disced in early September and broadcast the seed. We get Sept rains here, as a rule, and I left it alone and let it do it's thing. You would probably have a much better crop of it if you plowed and sowed, then irrigated, but I'm a hobbyist and there are other sources around, so I didn't worry too much.
    So many weeds.......so little time.

I tried it in two pastures that I have. In one pasture it never got started and in the other it did fine but I never saw much bee action. It didn't reseed itself there so I let it die out. Different plants will produce better in different regions, and I don't much think that stuff is suited to California.(at least where I'm at)

a couple of years ago, I paid for 100# of clover seed, planted it. it grew ok till june. The head man harvested and bailed it up before it flowered- without regard to my stated plans. I didnt know that he was going to do that. i neglected to stipulate how long it shoulsd be growing that i would never have gone to all that effort for nothing. The rancher just shrugged when i gently brought it up. I dont want to make waves and possibly loose the site.

moral of the story: Dont plant for honeybees unless there's an agreement ahead of time. there has to a clear bennefit for the keeper.

Matt