Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Bees on the front of Hive

4K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Michael Bush 
#1 ·
I have a general question about this. It is my first year raising my own bees. I started this hive late, the first week in June. I have feed them sugar water all summer in hopes of a strong hive before winter. I live in Northern Kentucky area, winters can be quite cold. It has been very hot and dry the past few weeks. I have been seeing a lot of bees on the front of the hive in the mornings and in the evenings. I think this is normal, but not sure. I do have the top cover opened about an 1/8 of an inch to allow a little air to flow under the cover because it has been so hot.
Is it normal to see the bees covering the front of the hive like this ?
Or am I getting into trouble here ?
Here are my pictures.
Thanks to all you seasoned bee keepers out there.

Bruce

http://www.flickr.com/photos/27288326@N08/2791593451/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/27288326@N08/2791591669/

The 1st picture is this morning. The 2nd is last night.

#3 ·
No, I don't think you are in trouble. I am also in my first year. my hive swarmed in the spring - but when it did there was a clump of bees on the front about 3 inches thick by a foot deep.
What you are seeing, I believe, is bees just thermoregulating the hive. When it is too hot in there they come out. If their numbers increase five-fold you may want to reassess.
Reassure yourself by looking in there to see if you have eggs and larva - which means the queen is still laying and not ready to buzz off. Also see how much space they have to work in; Is there room for them to add more stores?
There are lots of threads on here about bees on the front of the hive if you want to corroborate what I am saying, before the veterans have a say, do a couple of searches and you'll see what I mean.
By the way I admire how tidy you have set up the hive area. It looks great, Adrian

#4 ·