Default Combining a few weak hives

I am going to be combining a few weak hives with a few stronger hives.

I have never used this newspaper thing before. Do you find this works better? I am going to use queen excluders as usual. How long does it take the bees to get through the paper, and should I make an entrance at the top then. I didn't want to but I guess I could. I have some old supers with holes in that I could use on top of the other hive.

Reason I am doing this is the queens I bought a couple weeks ago are still not laying and they are not going to make it through the winter I am sure.

I have used news paper it works very well I have no clue as to whom does the chewing into the other compartment though.

top into the bottom or bottom into the top..

within 3 days part of it was chewed not all of it, that is when I checked to see if anything had been done.

why not put the weak ones together?

good luck with the girls:}:}

JB:}

I've used the newspaper method before. I've had just about as much fighting with it as I've had with just filling both hives with smoke and slapping them together. I think for something like requeening a strong hive it might work well, but I just quit worrying about it for combining week ones and I really haven't had many problems.

Have you considered overwintering the weak hives over a strong hive with screened partition between them. If you only put the new queens a couple of weeks ago , when how many brood cycles exist before the first hard freeze ? Here in central NY state we can expect a hard frost sometime around the 10 of October . Rick
    Turn stumbling blocks into stepping stones

Quote Originally Posted by J-Bees View Post
    why not put the weak ones together?

JB:}
    b/c usually they are weak for a reason. combining weak hives usually ends up in a weak hive. you might see a boost at first since the population is higher but if the queen is not laying well that newly combined hive will become weak again.