Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Strange e-mail

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Jackson, MO
    Posts
    1,820

    Default Strange e-mail

    I received the following e-mail. Very strange. Sounds like a hoax. I have cut and pasted it verbatim, with typo's, just as I received it. I haven't, and will not be responding to it. I tried to google this guy without success. I tried to 411.com him as well in Brownwood, TX but he doesn't seem to exist. Anyone else hear from him?

    Grant
    Jackson, MO

    ***********************

    Hi,

    My name is Peter and I want to know if you carry or ca order 50 pails of honey to be picked up from your location.

    Please find my details below :

    Floral : Any
    Type : Any
    Weight : 60 Lb Buckets
    Quantity : 50 Pails

    Please let me know the total cost for all 50 pails so I will forward my credit card information to you for full payment processing prior to pick-up.

    Hope to read from you soon.

    Peter Churchill.
    2001 Brady Ave
    Brownwood,Tx,76801
    Tel : Hearing Impaired.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tamworth, NSW Australia
    Posts
    258

    Default Looks Legit to me

    If it were mine, I would respond with a quote, limiting the price factor to 14 days.

    As I read the man, he is having trouble (Possibly from age?) keeping up to his local sales and wants to buy in some honey to keep his customers.

    I wish I could receive twenty emails like it every day from people in my area.

    Cheers,

    John

    This came up on Google, but the link is not responding.
    ATSSB Membership DirectoryJones, Peter T. RM, 06665, C.H. Yoe High School, AAA, 8, Central ...... 2001 Brady Avenue, #210, Brownwood, Texas 76801, (325) 643-8148, clarinet, saxophone ...
    www.atssb.org/execsec/Directory.06.htm - 768k - Cached - Similar pages
    Last edited by John Smith; 08-13-2008 at 08:29 PM. Reason: asdd link

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hays, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    1,102

    Default

    My brother got one recently asking for 20 & 25 kilogram pails. We figured he just plain "ain't from around here" and ignored it. Yours at least has what appears to be a legit address.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ennis, TX USA
    Posts
    4,943

    Default

    I looked the address up on the Brownwood Tax Rolls. And it is an apartment complex. So John Smith's search sounds right. If you wanted to research him you could contact the apartment's office and ask about him. Below is the tax roll link.

    http://propaccess.brown-cad.org/clie...address&page=4

    http://www.brown-cad.org/index.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    North Hills, CA USA
    Posts
    450

    Default E-mail

    Yes, I received an E-mail from Peter Churchill asking for my price on 100, 25 KG buckets of crystallized Alfalfa honey.
    I explaned that I do not operate in alfalfa. Also that all my honey is spoken for.
    I thought that the inquiry was a little weird.
    Walt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Farmington, New Mexico
    Posts
    5,991

    Default

    I would assume that it's a phishing scheme. Someone looking to defraud you. There's a name for this type of scheme but I can't remember what it is, nor the exact details. You have to ask why someone in Texas is trying to buy quantities of honey all over the place via email rather than just contacting one of the folks in the classified sections of the bee magazines. I could be mistaken, but it doesn't smell right.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Posts
    5,088

    Default

    Hey, I live three states from you. Let me use your credit card and I'll buy 100 pails of honey. They will process the card and I'll pick up the honey. When you get your bill, call the card company and report a strange transaction and they will take you money back from the vendor. Then we'll split the honey.

    It's an old trick, but it still works.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Venango/Crawford Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,719

    Default

    I would reply by mail. If there is no one by that name, they will return the letter. You could send it cerified, and he would have to sign for it and you would get a green card back with his signature. Then you would know he is real or not.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    St. Albans, Vermont
    Posts
    4,368

    Default

    Yep...I received that one too. Told him I was sold out. Who would take a credit card for 100 pails of honey??

    Hi,
    My name is Peter and I want to know if you carry or ca order 100 pails of honey to be picked up from your location.
    Please find my details below :
    Floral : Alfalfa
    Type : natural crystallized honey
    Weight : 25 Kg Buckets
    Quantity : 100 Pails

    Please let me know the total cost for all 100 pails so I will forward my credit card information to you for full payment processing prior to pick-up.
    Hope to read from you soon.

    Peter Churchill.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    2,031

    Default

    That iddee's one sharp guy.

    Suckers like me never even think of that stuff.
    “The keeping of bees is like the direction of sunbeams.” -Henry David Thoreau

  11. #11

    Default

    Its a scam....
    "To bee or not to bee"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    549

    Default

    Its a scam. Most likely, a stolen credit card. You'll process the card, and ship the honey, than, you will get notified the credit card is stolen and get debited... The honey will already be gone.. The "hearing impaired" service (telephone) is used frequently for the crooks in Nigeria, who use the stolen credit cards.

    I used to be a parts department manager in a GM dealership... This used to be a common scam pulled in that business. I'm guessing that the automotive industry is getting wise, so they are looking to other avenues to "cash-in" on these stolen credit cards...

    I also saw a editorial about this scam on 20 20, or a similar show...
    Find A Beekeeper - Swarm List
    "There's nothing wrong with me, it's the rest of the world that has a problem"

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Eden, NC
    Posts
    285

    Big Grin

    Hey Iddee,
    how did you learn that trick? :-)
    Frank

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Arlington, WA
    Posts
    128

    Default

    I had something very similiar to that for a puppy I was selling, told him to go pound sand unless he wanted to come by and pay cash. Never heard from him again.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Snowmass, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    2,520

    Default Scam prevention websites

    If you are in business and your info is out there you should visit these sites and check out the latest scams to prevent getting ripped off.

    http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/scamsdesc.htm

    http://www.hoax-slayer.com/

    http://www.hoax-slayer.com/nigerian-scams.html (Most scams are either Nigerian or Ghanaian in origin. This a a good site.)

    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/scam_...cam_alerts.htm

    These should be enough to get you aware of just how much is out there.

    Watch your honey...lots of robbers out there.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Posts
    5,088

    Default

    Frank, education is expensive. I paid 5,000 for that particular lesson.

    PS. Sent you a PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Phelps Co. Missouri USA
    Posts
    859

    Default

    I believe I would contact the Prosecuting attorney of your county, tell him what you have received, also that some people across the country say they have also received variations of the same e-mail, all from the same individual.
    State you have not advertised honey for sale nationaly.

    Ask him/her if you are being set up for a scam, could they contact the Brownwood police in regards to this matter.

    If it is a scam, I'll bet { sorry Rev. } it's not his first, or only one.

    PCM

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    392

    Default

    Yes, I received an email. Also our Association. No one "bit" as far as I know. I thought the Hearing Impaired was a nice touch. Thought the guy was trying to help himself make some cash.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sparta, Tennessee
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    If it seems to be too good to be true, then it probably is.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Venango/Crawford Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,719

    Default

    This is why people use PayPal.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads