Hybrid View

Default Russian colony in decline

Hello,
    As a newbie, I'm not sure what to do with my swarmed out and now queenless colony. They swarmed on June 26th and had plently of replacement queen cells in the making. I just inspected the colony the best I could and found no queen, no active queen cells,larva, or eggs in the brood chamber. The drawn frames were mostly empty(some capped honey on the edges) and the bees were angry(stung repeatedly). The bees were so upset I could not finish the inspection and had to close it up. I also noticed lots of drones landing and entering and making a lot of noise in the past few days. There should be a laying queen by now and my season is starting to turn a corner. They have only drawn out 8 frames of a single deep so far this season.
    Should I install a frame of uncapped larva from another colony to help them requeen themselves or combine the bees with another hive or hives? Or requeen from a supplier?

My other two nucs are progressing normally and have kept my interest in beekeeping. Thanks,

Jack

Jack,
    Whenever a hive swarms its a good opportunity to take a couple frames with a cell and raise a second queen in a nuc box. It's just playing the odds, as I find about 25% of swarm hives are never queenright again without beekeeper intervention.

You also waited too long in getting to this point. I know many here on beesource, and was just mentioned yesterday on another thread, something along the lines of "Close them back up and wait SEVERAL weeks". Several weeks? Yeah, right. Several weeks to a doomed hive or a worker laying colony! If they swarmed on Jun 26th, an open cell should of been seen within the week, with destruction of the other cells(indicating a queen present), then eggs or at least confirmation of the queens presence with ten days or so.