Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: Forum speed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    DuPage County, Illinois USA
    Posts
    9,531

    Default Forum speed

    What are members experiencing in regards to the speed of the board (page load, etc.) with whatever internet connection you have? Do you ever experience times where pages take a long time to load?
    Regards, Barry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Concord NH
    Posts
    2,665

    Default

    Rarely.

    I'm on 3 meg DSL...nothin' special....
    Milk Cows Not Taxpayers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Davis,South Dakota,USA
    Posts
    401

    Default

    It seems sometimes some threads take longer to come up than others,I just figured it was our wireless internet service.[verizon]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Posts
    5,080

    Default

    I'm on DSL and using firefox.

    About a week ago, it started loading slow, sometimes timing out and having to click on "try again". I had to click on "try again" to reply to this thread.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Campobello, SC, USA
    Posts
    195

    Default

    I have windstream high speed internet (128 k) I think, its the next step up from the slowest, but even when I just had dailup I never experienced any delays or slowness in this site.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Posts
    3,598

    Default

    iddee

    I think we probably both get service from ATT
    their service has sucked lately
    connection goes down for 10-15 seconds then comes back up
    have you seen the response you described on other website too? I have
    I think, at least for me, the problem is on my end not Barry's

    Dave

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Posts
    5,080

    Default

    The only other site I see it on is my local bee club's site, and it has been that way for years. I don't know who actually provides my service. I get it through my local, privately owned, telephone company. I would imagine they are resellers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    VENTURA, California, USA
    Posts
    3,604

    Default Speed ?

    I have the upgraded Time-Warner cable.
    They have three levels of speed. I have the 5.0 bit and it is faaaaaast
    I can get their 10.0 bit for about 6-$10.00 more.
    Regards,
    Ernie
    Ernie
    My websitehttp://bees4u.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johnston, South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    554

    Default

    I use Bellsouth (AT&T) DSL and never had any problems w/this site.

    -Nathanael
    Beaches' Bee-Haven Apiary http://beachesbeehaven.com
    Aiken Beekeepers Association http://aikenbeekeepers.org

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sacramento,California,USA
    Posts
    3,804

    Default

    Pages here are always good loading except sometimes late at night, after midnight or later. I have Comcast, 5mb down and 1mb up, in California.
    “When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.” – John Muir

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    DuPage County, Illinois USA
    Posts
    9,531

    Default

    I have DSL through ATT and have never experienced the site being slow myself. I'm always working the back end controls, dealing with registration issues and such and moving around has always been pretty fast. Was just curious what other's were experiencing with the site. With the old board, I would have long page load times.
    Regards, Barry

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    4,167

    Default

    I have a low speed cable modem, & have no problems with the site loading fast.

    Dan

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Crescent City, FL USA
    Posts
    76

    Default

    All of you are lucky I can still only get dial-up where I live. With that being said I don't have any problems with the pages loading on this site at all, it is one of the fastest loading sites I visit.

    Richard
    6 Hives
    Crescent City, FL

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    DuPage County, Illinois USA
    Posts
    9,531

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by akaneo View Post
    it is one of the fastest loading sites I visit.
    I attribute that to keeping inline images and fluff junk like avatars and "production signature lines" off the board. I personally hate boards that have all the bells and whistles implemented as it increases load time, is visually over stimulating and confusing, and simply detracts from what is important, the written word.
    Regards, Barry

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Townville, SC
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I have dial up at home and 1GPS at work of course no problem at work but it is also the fastest site at home. I love it makes for easy reading.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Owen, WI, USA
    Posts
    2,555

    Default

    OK, so what is my problem? I cleared cache and cookies and it is STILL really slow, and the only site I frequent that is. I am running Firefox, Wildblue satellite internet 100mbps, anyone with any suggestions? It drives me crazy, short trip I know.
    Sheri

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Whitsett, NC
    Posts
    494

    Default

    I had a problem with Time Warner being slow a few years back. After many calls I got someone that had me ping a few sites and read back the info and they found a bad or slow router somewhere in their equipment. If you have a few sites that are slow and some that are working fine maybe a call to the Internet provider will help.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pepperell, MA.
    Posts
    3,771

    Default

    Barry, I'm with you. All the graphical garbage just takes up space and speed. I appreciate being able to read and type.
    "My wife always wanted girls. Just not thousands and thousands of them......"

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    4,167

    Default

    Hi Sheri,

    Here's a link to a site to check you're isp speed
    http://speedtest.net/
    That way you will know if they are giving you what they charge you for.

    Dan

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Owen, WI, USA
    Posts
    2,555

    Default

    I pay for (they say "up to") 1.5mbps and last ping was 1.44 so that is OK. Most sites I have fast page loads but Beesource is very slow for some reason, sometimes timing out, although not too often. I usually end up reading another tab while waiting, it is so annoying. Good thing I can multi task, lol.
    Ski, I don't understand what you are saying. Are you saying my internet provider would have a bad server that only shows up with Beesource or are you saying Beesource might have a bad server?
    I must say, it isn't only Beesource, there are occasional other sites I frequent that are often slow (paypal comes to mind) but Beesource is always slow lately, just the past couple, maybe three weeks. It was fine prior, this sudden change is why I was wondering,
    Sheri

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads