Default Lots of dead bees at entrance (on the ground)

Hi I have two hives, I went to move them the other night and found probably 200 odd dead bees at the entrance, I checked both hives before I took them and both seemed to have many bees inside. We had a huge downpour about three days earlier (bigger than most) and when I opened the lid there was condensation in the lid. The lid was on, and no apparent water looked like it could have got in the top however the temp got down to 6 degrees outside for a few days. I think they may have been flooded but I am not sure (hive is off the ground and it is on a hill, so no water would have risen so to speak), Could the cold have knocked a few off. Out of three hives, it was the only one with dead bees out front. They were still fresh also as I squished a few and they spurted. some were even moving a little.

Anyone know what may have happened. Or could anyone give me any advice.
    I am new to this, I love it and the first year my two hives netted me 200 odd kilo's of honey, I didnt even knwo what I was doing other than reading the book and killing the queen cells.
    Dave

Would that be 6 degress C ? What did you see from the bees that were on the ground but still alive ? Did they have deformed wings? Since I am only guessing here they might have had another hive try to rob them or it could be a mite problem/virus cause as a result of mites? ...more info would help ...Rick
    Turn stumbling blocks into stepping stones

Quote Originally Posted by RAlex View Post
    Would that be 6 degress C ? What did you see from the bees that were on the ground but still alive ? Did they have deformed wings? Since I am only guessing here they might have had another hive try to rob them or it could be a mite problem/virus cause as a result of mites? ...more info would help ...Rick