Default Comb on top of Frames ?

Hi, I am new at this. Here is a picture of my hive that that is only 4 weeks old, I know I got a late start. I have a top feeder on top that I got from Mann Lake. When I check it today I see that they are building comb on top of the frames and inside of the bottom of the feeder as well as building comb on the frrames. Is this normal ? Also should I leave it alone or scrape it off ? Sorry maybe this is a dumb question, but you don't know if you don't ask. Thanks everyone. Here is a link to the photo. http://www.shutterfly.com/lightbox/v...fd7207a7b1fe91

I couldn't open the photo, but I have had the same comb building in both of my hives. I noticed that the cells they were building were much larger than those in the brood nest. My bees were looking for a place to build Drone comb. I would scrape the comb off and offer them an empty frame to build their own wax. Or if you have a sheet of drone comb, you can give that to them.

If you decide to go with the empty frame, rub a little beeswax along the underside of the top bar of the frame. It will help "guide" them. I'm still pretty new to beekeeping, only been doing it for about 3 years. But in my opinion, they are building that comb for a reason. Give them an open space to build it and you'll both be happy
    Let's BEE friends

The link you provided asks me to sign up for a shutterfly account, before I can view your images. I do not wish to open an account, so I guess I will not be able to view your images - though I would like to.
    - - - - - - - -
    Quite possibly you are asking about brace/burr comb. Most hives build some, some hives build lots, more is created with lots of feed or a strong honeyflow.
    Last edited by Joseph Clemens; 06-29-2008 at 08:47 PM.
    48 years - 50 hives - TF
    Joseph Clemens -- Website Under Constructioni

Same here, maybe you could try another way to show pictures.