Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wild weekend

Default wild weekend

Well i've been keeping bees for about 5 years now. Never had a problem with stings until this week end. While dealing with a real nasty hive a bee got under my veil and stung me in the throat right at about the jugular!

I knew right away that this sting was not going to be very good so i closed up the hive and got down (I keep this hive on my roof to keep it away from the bears). sure enough within about five or ten minutes sweat just sort ofstarted pouring off of my face and i started to feel dizzy. i called my wife who was on her way home anyway and told her to hurry cause i wasn't feeling very well about ten minutes into our phone conversation i collapsed. she got home within minutes and i was already getting back up but the ambulance was already called and they were soon there too. after i had convinced them that i was alright and feeling much better they left but said that if i had a hard time breathing or had any rashes to call them back so they could check me out again. Well they weren't gone more than ten minutes when i broke out into a rash that covered the entire upper half of my body. the ambulance got back to my house and took one look at my stomach and said "this time you don't have a choice your going to the hospital". they gave me a IV with benidryl and a small dose of epi on the way to the hospital. at the hospital they put into my IV predisone and made me stay there till 2:00 am before they would release me.

Well me being me the next morning i just had to get back on the horse and get back into my hives to i did (this time taking all sorts of precations). Well today i got lightly stung through my gloves on the knuckle. Besides my panic and nervousness nothing bad happened at all. What i want to ask the forum is has anyone else had a reaction like mine only once or am i done beekeeping and just got lucky today.