Default Can't find queen. un-capped brood.

Hey folks -

I am new to this adventure, and have a friend that started this year as well.

We can't seem to find her queen. Mine, seems so easy to find. Her queen should be an italian and we installed her package 2 weeks ago. About 5 frames are drawn + parts of 2 others. I can find, what I think are eggs, there doesn't seem to be any with 2 eggs in them, though they don't look particularly straight up and down. I also found a small circle of un-capped brood in the center.

If you have a drone layer, will there be un-capped brood in normal sized cells? I mean is the cell diameter the same? In my hive that I put in early April, the drone cells are very obvious after they are capped, but I am not sure I have seen any drone cells before they are capped.

What do you think? Do I have a problem?

Dundrave

I think everything is normal. You're probably looking a little too hard for her, try just looking for brood and most of the time your eye will pick up on the unique movements of the queen. From your description, though, I think your bees are doing well, they've started on their comb, and the queen was accepted and laying... Have fun!

Yes laying workers and drone layers will lay drones in worker cells, and remember that the capped worker cells are supposed to be slightly rounded at the top.

-Nathanael
    Beaches' Bee-Haven Apiary http://beachesbeehaven.com
    Aiken Beekeepers Association http://aikenbeekeepers.org

Default Thanks!

Good I will relax until next week!