Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: split swarm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florence az
    Posts
    3

    Default split swarm

    Hello ,I am new so I guss you can tell. I caught a swarm two weeks ago and I tried to move it 2 nights ago about 500 feet. Well about half came back so I put another hive there and they are in it, still alot of bees in the hive I moved my question is do I buy a queen for the ones that came back and do I feed them. thank you celticsur

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oxford, Kansas
    Posts
    1,988

    Default

    they will have to have queen to survive. Question is how many bees went back to the old location and 2nd are there enough there to survive

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florence az
    Posts
    3

    Default split swarm

    Thank you for getting to me, The ones that came back are around 2 pounds. The ones that stayed looks like maybe a pound. I am not sure if they even have a queen. Would it be a mistake to put a queen in each
    celticsur

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,384

    Default

    Why not just move the queenless bees to the new hive?
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florence az
    Posts
    3

    Default split swarm

    Thank you
    It is the new hive that does not have a queen. See I was stupid I thought I could move them at night I caught them right at the house I swep them in the hive but did not getall them after a couple they all came to the hive I left the hive there for 2 weeks then tried to move them 3 nights ago. the next day about 2 pounds came back another 2-3 pounds stayed in the hive I moved where the queen is. I am I arizona
    thank you for the help celticsur

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Central Point, Oregon
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Do you have another hive? If so, you can take a frame of brood with eggs in the one you know is queenless or put a frame in both parts of the swarm. The one (or perhaps both) which needs to raise a queen will do so. If you do not have a frame (or two) see if you can find a local beekeeper who might be able to help you out by providing what you need.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, TX, USA
    Posts
    4,397

    Default

    Just take the box to the new location and shake them into the hive. Then, put a branch in front of the hive entrance and don't put a box at the old location.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads