Default new to beekeeping

I'm new to Beekeeping and am interested in finding out as much info as possible. Does anyone know any Beekeepers in the Kansas City Mo area?

Default new to beekeeping

I'm also going tomorrow to buy a hive with bees already established..I'm sure I will ask the gentleman a ton of questios when I buy it but I like multiple opinions. What all is necessary to set it up properly and what supplies will I need?

hey rriley. Welcome to beekeeping! It's great that you're getting some advice before you get set up. I wish I had set everything up differently!! For equipment I would get the following.

4 medium hive bodies (for the bees) Either 8 frame or 10 frame
    2 medium hive bodies to use as "honey supers"
    screened bottom board
    entrance reducer
    frames
    foundation
    inner cover
    outer cover
    hive stand - either buy one or build something.
    smoker
    feeding device. I use a pail feeder, but there are all sorts of options
    bees
    a hive tool

also handy are frame rests, extra equipment in case you need to do a split, swarm traps in case you want to catch one and a bee brush.

It's nice to have all the same size equipment because things are interchangeable. If you need to take a frame of honey from the "honey supers" to put in the hive bodies, you can do that with no problems!

You'll need some sort of a screened bottom board. I like the country rubes bottom board, but if you don't have the money, you can just get a regular screened bottom board that fits on a hive stand.

My preference would be a top entrance. You can read more about it here. http://www.bushfarms.com/bees.htm You can also read about a lot of other things on this website. Michael Bush has a lot of info that just makes sense, and his ideas make beekeeping easier for you!

You'll need some sort of protective gear for yourself. I have a full suit, but if you don't want one at least get a vail and some gloves.