Thread: Homemade feeder

Default Homemade feeder

Hello everyone,

I am planning on making some contact feeders out of some plastic pails. The lids fit tight and they don`t leak when turned upside down. I was wondering how many holes should I put in the lid and how big should the holes be? The lids are 5½ inches square. The pails hold about 50 fluid ounces. I`ll be putting them over the inner cover which has a centered hole of about 4 inch diameter.

Also... what magic keeps the syrup from just running out and flooding the hive?

And finally, how long will it take the bees to empty one of these? (They will be used to feed nucs that I will get in early May.)

BTW... great forum. This is my first year and I will surely have many questions as I go along. This forum has a lot of experienced people and I like the response you give to newcomers.

Thanks

MM

My holes are all smaller that 1/32". I put between 3 and 30 depending on what I want to accomplish. A vacuum (plus a bit of surface tension) is what holds the syrup in the bucket, so leakproof is important. You may get some minor leakage from the sun's heating of the bucket. I place mine toward the front of the hive and tilt it slightly to the front. If it leaks, most of the syrup runs down the front of the hive instead of soaking the cluster.

The container must also be sturdy. If the vacuum caused inside can collapse the container walls, all the syrup will pour out. That's why many people use glass jars.
    “The keeping of bees is like the direction of sunbeams.” -Henry David Thoreau

I use 2 gallon plastic paint buckets from HD. They hold up well and don't require an empty box to cover them.

michilin man ask:
    how long will it take the bees to empty one of these?

tecumseh replies:
    I think the three important variables are 1) existing size of cluster 2)proximity of feed container to cluster 3) number of holes.