Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default question on possible problem for new keeper

Hey all, I am very new to bee keeping and just got my first package this past spring. The hive seems to be doing great and is full of bees although we have been in a terrible drout this year. I have been feeding them all summer. For their hive I have oen deep brood chamber as well as a second deep brood chamber for them to store their food for the winter. Through the feeding which has been about a gallon of syrup water about every two days or so they have nearly filled the second deep hive body. I have not checked their brood chamber in about 2 months as to not disturb them too much but I decided to check it this past week.
    When I took the top hive body off and started to check the bottom hive body I found a couple things that bothered me.
    1. I noticed that they are using very little of the brood chamber for actual brood raising and have filled a couple of the frames up full of honey and are only using the center 4 or 5 frames for actual brood. Is this normal for this time of year as they are getting ready for winter or have I over fed them and they are using that for storage rather than the top chambers?