what medicine do i need to give to my hive?

I am new to beekeeping and wondering what medicine do you need to give your hive to keep the pests away and for anything else

if there is no problem in the hive than nothing should be used. if there is a problem you need to treat with what will help the situation. what you use will depend on the problem being treated most good bee books will tell you what to use for what ever ails the hive.

I agree with riverrat, I donít take antibodies when Iím not sick so why would you treat your bees if they arenít sick? As far as keeping pests away that you will need to practice. However there are no silver bullets so you will need to practice Integrated Pest Management. Best way to figure that out if you donít have a good beekeeper to show you the ropes is start reading, there are a lot of good books out there.
    The Busy Bee teaches two lessons: One is not to be idle and the other is not to get stung.

I don't treat them for anything at all. But unless you do something and unless you monitor in the meantime, you may lose them to Varroa mites.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beespests.htm
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Default treat them now or lose them later