Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    2,030

    Default Dumb Computer Questions

    1. If a computer has a DVD/RW drive, can I read and write CD's in it?
    2. If a computer comes with Vista, can I load XP onto it? If so, where, does the Vista system go?
    3. If a computer only has 512MB RAM, can you get external RAM to plug in to a USB port?

    When it comes to computers I feel like a giraffe on waterskis.
    “The keeping of bees is like the direction of sunbeams.” -Henry David Thoreau

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Inver Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,462

    Default

    1. I think all DVD/RWs can read CDs. Most of the newer ones can also write, but you would have to check to see if this is the case on the specific one you're looking at.

    2. In theory you could. You would need to build a multi-boot system. Not something for a novice to mess with. I don't see any reason to load XP if you have Vista. You could, if you wanted, wipe the hard drive and install XP as the only operating system.

    3. RAM has to be put in the slots of the motherboard. This isn't especially difficult to do, they just snap in.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    2,030

    Default

    Muchos gracias!
    “The keeping of bees is like the direction of sunbeams.” -Henry David Thoreau

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Loganville, GA
    Posts
    2,174

    Default

    Yes, the dvd will handle the cd's.

    Go here if you want to run a dual boot with Vista already installed.

    http://apcmag.com/5485/dualbooting_vista_and_xp

    If you have a 64 bit system, use a copy of 64 bit Windows XP. You can only purchase XP 64 on an OEM disk. Cost can be as low as $50. I paid just under $60. Using a 32 bit operating system on a 64 bit machine is a was of time and good hardware!!

    Read your owners manual supplied with the machine or mother board. Memory is required to be installed in pairs on some boards. It's not very hard to understand the configuration once you read the information in your manual. Look in you machine and see how you memory has been installed. So you are certain you have a slot(s) available.

    Some OEM's like to put seals on their systems that warn of voiding your warranty if the seal is broken. I build all of my own so I don't have the problem. And I would likely blow up their factory if they tried to give me that load of hooey but you may want to call them. Don't trash your warranty!!

    Have Fun!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    enterprise, florida
    Posts
    116

    Default

    You obviously have no children they are the ones to ask about computers,DVDs, ect. Sorry can't help I'm computer illiterate.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pilot Hill, Northern CA.
    Posts
    776

    Default

    Rumor has it that with Vista you can plug in a USB/flash RAM drive and Vista will indeed use it as working memory. This may be the only reason I would switch to Vista given the current price of internal RAM versus flash/USB RAM.
    Once you see the bandwagon, it's too late.
    www.goldfinch-acres.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Inver Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dee Bee View Post
    Rumor has it that with Vista you can plug in a USB/flash RAM drive and Vista will indeed use it as working memory. This may be the only reason I would switch to Vista given the current price of internal RAM versus flash/USB RAM.
    I was just reading about that. Apparently, it works with faster memory sticks, but may not work with all of them. You also have to take a few steps to tell Vista to use the flash ram for system ram. Flash ram is much slower than system ram, but it's still a lot faster than a disk swap.

    The big problem I see is that flash ram is limited in the number of writes that it can do before it fails. Using it as actual ram could result in a lot of writes in a reletively short time.

    Some day I may be forced to use Vista, but I don't think that's going to be any time soon.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Loganville, GA
    Posts
    2,174

    Default

    Aside from being the most resource intensive release of Winders yet, add on the bugs with the legacy software and lack of driver support. I think I'll wait this one out for a while. That's a first, I've usually had the beta loaded ahead of the alpha and the alpha loaded within a week of release.

    Could be I'm getting old and grumpy or I would just rather spend more time with the bees than working on these stupid things all day, everyday!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Kirkland, WA, USA
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dee Bee View Post
    Rumor has it that with Vista you can plug in a USB/flash RAM drive and Vista will indeed use it as working memory. This may be the only reason I would switch to Vista given the current price of internal RAM versus flash/USB RAM.
    Not rumor, and in many cases worlds faster. I use it quite happily. How happy you are with Vista is directly dependent on what hardware you need to run it with. Vista broke the old model of "You shouldn't do that, but it'll probably work." I've seen things in device drivers that make me shudder. Don't even get me started on app space. "I can write straight to the CD device, Watch me! Oops, that was the hard drive..."
    http://www.voiceofthehive.com - Tales of Beekeeping and Honeybees

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Warne, North Carolina
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bizzybee View Post
    Could be I'm getting old and grumpy or I would just rather spend more time with the bees than working on these stupid things all day, everyday!
    No bizzybee, your older and wiser...to want to spend more time with your bees than working with computers...Yuck.

    My brother, aka a true blue Microsoft guru specialists, keeps reminding me to wait on Vista...till they get all the bugs ironed out. Remember, there was a service pack 1 and a service pack 2 for XP??? SP2 made a world of difference and that is one head ache I'll never forget.
    ~What do you know there's so much to be done
    Count all the bees in the hive, Chase all the clouds from the sky~

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads