Default Foundation preferences

Hello All,
    This is a topic that I am sure has been covered before, but I will ask it again. What are your preferences for foundation for brood and extracting supers? I am new to beekeeping but I have a beekeeper friend who is going to help me get going.
    I have never heard anything good about plastic, so that is not an option. I am trying to decide between Rite-Cell (Mann Lake) and wired foundation. I have 500+ wedge top frames (deeps and mediums) that I bought new off of another beekeeper and the thought of wiring them all is overwhelming. I am willing to do it if it means greater bee acceptance. Had thought about using wired for the brood and Rite-Cell for the extracting supers. I also have a few new 7 5/8 boxes and can only seem to find Rite-Cell foundation to fit. Is it a problem mixing foundation?
    Any thoughts would be helpful.
    Jason

i use wire foundation as i plan on extracting my frames. you will probably get mixed opinions on whether you need to crosswire wired foundation frames. i started out by not cross wiring but am now using two cross wires to give it that extra insurance. i guess it really depends on how you are going to harvest your honey.

I use sc foundation, which I make myself, for everything that I put foundation in, which isn't much anymore. Plastic frames work ok, I haven't had any problem with the Mann Lake pf100s that I am using. You will want to wire your frames, all of them. If you use an extractor to harvest your honey, the wire will help prevent blowouts of comb during the process.
    "I reject your reality, and substitute my own." Adam Savage

Well I use plastic "Rite-Cell" "Pierco black" "Permident" I am to lazy to wire frames
    Ed, KA9CTT profanity is IGNORANCE made audible
    you can`t fix stupid not even with duct tape

Quote Originally Posted by jjallday View Post